To endings and beginnings

It is true! I have fantasized about it, struggled with it, wrestled with it, thought about it to death…and finally I have done it.

Turned in my resignation and 2 weeks notice on September 2nd, on my son’s 17th birthday.  Tomorrow is my last day at the company where I have worked since January 1998.  12 years, 9 months.  I am excited and a little terrified.  The last 2 times I quit my job I knew exactly what my next step was going to be.

Back in 1990, Raj and I resigned from CMC to start in Digital Equipment,  and start a life here in the US.  We hardly had a break between the jobs.

Our beloved ‘Chief’ as we used to call him tried talking us out of it.  But we moved on.

Then in May of 1991, we were starting a family – I had decided to take a break and raise kids.  I was pregnant with Sandhya.  I resigned, we moved to good old midwestern cornfield village, and I knew exactly what I was going to do.

Then when the kids were starting in school, I started at Ontario in 1998.  And have now resigned.  This time, I have absolutely no idea what I want to do.  I just know I cannot continue.  I need to take a break, clear my head, go home, spend some time with my family.  And then come back and decide what it is that will make this middle-aged and restless woman shut up and be happy with a career choice…

But it’s kinda bittersweet – when so many people say they will miss you, take you to lunch pretty much the whole week,  I must admit I wavered a bit ( to put a morbid twist on it, it was a little bit like being at your own funeral – stop rolling your eyes, Ad and Sandhya)  But I stood firm, and stuck to my decision.  Only time will tell if it was the right call – this time it’s all based on a gut feeling that strongly said I need to go.

Am I going to go nuts and drive everyone around me nuts?  Probably.  But I’m determined to try it out.  Take out my painting brushes, blog, have a good time with my family back home, maybe go back to school!  The options are endless and I can’t wait to find out.

Cheers,

sri

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Thakkudu
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 13:59:28

    I need to take a break, clear my head, go home, spend some time with my family and athooda write somethng in my blog//nu add pannungo..;))

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

