Florida Driving 101

Turn signals: There are two states of turn signals when driving in Florida.  On or off.  Mostly off.   Have followed cars on the highway for miles with the turn signal indicating left, on the left lane.  My son said to me recently: “So do you not believe in turn signals anymore?” after I made a few turns without indicating.  Guess I’m officially a Floridian now!

It’s a race to nowhere:  I need my space – personally and on the road.  But it’s hard to find in Florida.  I would speed to avoid being rear-ended on the highway, only to have the follower speed up to catch up with me!  It’s a lost battle.  So nowadays I go all passive-aggressive by driving slightly above the speed limit (to justify staying on the left lane), and my followers eventually give up or get disgusted and pass me.   No shame in driving the speed limit!

Speaking of speed limits – it’s like the weather:  Or as they say in Massachussets, the motto here seems to be “You don’t like our speed limit? Wait a second – it’ll change.”  Seriously, I’ve driven thru 2 mile stretches where the speed limit ranged between 45 and 65.  And not in any ascending or descending order either.  Ah… the games they play!

Pretty much all the drivers here fall into one of these categories:  old, lost, new to Florida, tourist, or all of the above.   After a while,  one tends to give up and just enjoy the good weather, the mild winters (73 in February? who can be in a bad mood with that kind of weather?), and the sunshine!

Watch this space for more insights into driving in Florida as we continue to assimilate!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sandhya
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 08:40:41

    who took that picture of you?

    Like

    Reply

  2. sri
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 09:05:11

    haha funny girl..

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

