Conversations With My Daughter

A little background for this conversation:  unless you’ve been living in a cave in the US or you’re living elsewhere in the world, you have by now heard all about Todd Akin’s brillance on rape, forcible rape and how women’s bodies naturally shut down pregnancy in cases of rape.

As aside: I knew an actual living human being who said the same thing – about 20 years ago – needless to say, my respect for him plummeted after that. And another one, actually may have been my boss at the time, who got annoyed with me when I said “just abort” a couple of times during a conversation – I was talking about a COMPUTER PROGRAM that needed to be killed and told me sternly “don’t say just abort”. He was deeply offended that I’d use that term even for a computer program.

My suspicion is that a majority of the republicans including Paul Ryan share some form of this view (life begins at fertilization, let’s get rid of Planned Parenthood, all abortions need to be made illegal even in cases of rape, incest and other such inane ideas), but most are smart enough to not say it. So, I’ve been campaigning hard with my kids to vote this year – they’re both of voting age for the first time in an election year. But to my disappointment, they’ve been been a little apathetic on the subject. It’s been bothering me and Raj. My mind has taken on its usual course of self-flagellation: have I failed as a parent? Are my kids going to be uncaring, uninvolved citizens?

So today I called my daughter, all prepared to give a speech on the importance of voting, especially as a woman. Here’s how it went:

Me: Daughter, have you been following the Todd Akin story? You know about the definition of ..

(of course, I don’t actually address her as “Daughter”)

Daughter (D): Oh it makes me so angry I don’t want to talk about it.

Me: Then here’s why you need to vote. It’s really important considering..

D (Laughing): Of course I’m going to vote. I just say I’m not going to because I know it annoys you…

Me: (speechless): ….

Kids!

Leave a Reply

